Day Date Lecture/Studio Reading Assignment Due
Mon 1/07/2019

Course Overview & Introductions (PPT)

   
Fri 1/11/2019 Studio Task #1 - Hiearchy & Tagging

Hierarchy from Universal Principles of Design

 

How to Survive A Critique, by Karen Cheng

#1 Studio Task #1 - Hiearchy & Tagging (individual)
Mon 1/14/2019 Project Presentation #1 - Project Recap

 

#2 Project Recap (team)
Fri 1/18/2019 Value Sensitive Design, Jill Woelfer (Google)

Value Sensitive Design

Mon 1/21/2019 Martin Luther King, Jr., Day Holiday - No Classes
#3 Web Site (team)
Fri 1/25/2019 Studio Task #2 - Gestalt Principles Closure, Good Continuation, Proximity, Similarity, and Uniform Connectedness from Universal Principles of Design #4 Studio Task #2 - Gestalt Principles (individual)
Mon 1/28/2019 Project Presentation #2 - Lab Usability Study #5 Lab Usabilitly Study (team)
Fri 2/1/2019 From Project to Startup, Dr. Manu Kumar (K9 Ventures)

Studio Task #3 - Business Model

 

Mon 2/4/2019

A Crash Course in Visual Design, Elizabeth Lin (Khan Academy)

#6 Studio Task #3 - Business Model (team - start in Friday's class)
Fri 2/8/2019 Project Presentation #3 - Hi-fi Prototype #2 #7 Hi-fi Prototype #2 (team)
Mon 2/11/2019 Studio Task #4 - Color Color from Universal Principles of Design #8 Studio Task #4 - Color (individual)
Fri 2/15/2019 Ability-based Design, Prof. Jacob Wobbrock (UW) Wobbrock, J.O., Gajos, K.Z., Kane, S.K. and Vanderheiden, G.C. (2018). Ability-Based Design. Communications of the ACM 61 (6), June 2018, pp. 62-71.
Mon 2/18/2019 Presidents' Day Holiday - No Classes
Fri 2/22/2019 Project Presentation #4 - Field Usability Test #9 Field Usability Test (team)
Mon 2/25/2019 Studio Task #5 - Control Control from Universal Principles of Design

#10 Studio Task #5 - Control (individual)

Fri 3/1/2019 Work on Project in Class  
Mon 3/4/2019 Demo: Hi-fi Prototype #3 #11 Demo: Hi-fi Prototype #3 (team)
Fri 3/8/2019 Studio Task #6 - Online Test Participant #12 Studio Task #6 - Online Test Participant (individual)
Mon 3/11/2019 Work on Project in Class #13 Hi-fi Video Prototype (team)
Fri 3/15/2019 Presentation #5: Final Presentations & Project Launch Party (Packard 101 and the Atrium, 6:30 PM) #14 Final Project Poster & Report (team)