Catch the Tiger! Composing with Sounds and Images

Jaroslaw Kapuscinski   Jaroslaw Kapuscinski, Stanford Dept. of Music
    jkapusciat signstanford.edu

Seminar on People, Computers, and Design
Stanford University December 5, 2008

It is widely accepted that in everyday environment human perception is dominated by vision. Among the senses sound is usually secondary but gains particular importance when providing information that is not visible. In artistic communication this balance can be manipulated. Music can still be used to help read and interpret images, it can focus attention and control what is seen and when. More importantly though, carefully composed correspondences of sound and image can point to information beyond what either of them or their simple sum seem to carry.

As an intermedia composer I am in constant search for such synergetic relationships. I often perform on a piano interfaced with a computer through MIDI in the Max/MSP programming environment. This puts images and sounds under my fingers but in a vary flexible way. Using score following and similar techniques I can dynamically change how each of the piano keys controls the computer in different sections of the piece. In the lecture I will present both the process of composition and audiovisual performance. I will demonstrate how various realtime musical actions reinterpret animated sequences. I will also briefly talk about current research at the newly formed Intermedia Performance Lab at Stanford.

bart